Game Producer Quest, Part 10

You know, I actually had an idea in mind of what to post next.  But sometimes, the game industry just hands you something on a silver platter, so I’ll hold off on my original intention and mention some brief thoughts on the end of THQ.

I can’t say they’ve been around as long as I’ve been gaming, but I can say they’ve produced games that I have both enjoyed and disliked.  I will add though that they haven’t made a game series that I loved or couldn’t stop playing.  At best, some of their games were really quite fun, while others simply failed to capture my interest to the point where I had no desire to even make a purchase.

Series I liked:

Saints Row – There are things this sandbox game does right, which is simply to be silly and offensive on a massive scale.  It actually works well, considering that the gameworld is intended to be a sandbox gameplay-wise.  With that said, it’s also a game series that, once you’ve finished playing, you more or less don’t have any desire to play anymore.  That is, at least for me, it lacks replay value.  The story is done, it’s time to move on.

WWE Series – I have been an on-and-off wrestling fan for years.  Currently, I’m on an ‘off’ phase.  Still, wrestling games can be great fun and enjoyable, with fun create-a-character suites where you find yourself spending more time than you’d like, because it takes forever to load a piece of clothing or tattoo.  The latest rumor is that 2K has acquired the rights to the franchise, which would be very interesting to say the least.

Series I didn’t bother with:

Darksiders, Company of Heroes, Homefront, Warhammer 40,000, Red Faction, Destroy All Humans!  Since I haven’t  really played any of these games, I’ll refrain from sharing my thoughts on them specifically.

Overall though, it’s actually impressive the number of intellectual properties that have emerged from THQ.  Some of them aren’t originally theirs; I think Warhammer is a tabletop game from a company whose name evades me, but overall, still impressive.  In the end, while I can’t say the company has ever produced a game I would put as one of my personal all-time favorites, it has produced some honest-to-goodness, fun games, which is definitely something to be proud of.

Leave a Reply

