Game Producer Quest, Part 05

Long time, no write so I guess I’ll talk about a wide range of items ranging from Games to sports.

NFL: Wasn’t sure what to make of the Giants this year (FYI: lifelong New York Giants fan).  Then again, I’m never sure what to make of them.  One thing I realized about the Giants in what I’ll call the Tom Coughlin / Eli Manning ear: they (in my opinion, of course) are wildly unpredictable.  As of today, they are 5-2 for the season.  I wouldn’t be surprised if they finish the season 9-7 or 10-6, squeak into the playoffs as a Wild Card, then make their way to the Super Bowl and win it all.  It just seems to be their MO.  In 2008, did anyone but the most die-hard Giants fan think they’d beat the Patriots, who were supposed to be undefeated that year?  (Note that I’m not talking about rooting for the team; I obviously hoped that they’d beat the Patriots, but I honestly thought they’d lose).  And I thought the revenge factor would be greater for the Patriots last year, but again the Giants pulled off the win.  Come to think of it, if I lived anywhere near Vegas, I should have put down money on the Giants last year.

But I digress…

NBA: Preseason has ended, and the Boston Celtics (FYI: lifelong Boston Celtics fan) are looking pretty good.  Regarding the Ray Allen situation, I may be in the minority here, but I don’t mind him leaving.  I’m thankful for the contributions he made to the team, but his legs are shot, his lateral movement reminds me of Derek Fisher, which is to say there’s not much lateral movement to be had, making him a liability on defense.  Also, to be frank, I think he’s a better fit in Miami.  He can’t free himself by running of screens the way he used to, so it’ll be easier for him to have LeBron penetrate and kick out to him as he spots up for a three.

Regarding the team as they are now, their preseason record is technically not great, but I’m fine with that.  They’re a team with a ton of depth, except at the point guard position.  If Kevin Garnett and Paul Pierce can remain healthy for the season (i.e. limit their minutes), and the team remains mostly industry free, I anticipate another deep run in the playoffs.  Last year, I don’t think anyone thought they’d make it as far as they did, so unless something strange happens, I think they’re better equipped to not only repeat that performance, but exceed it.

Gaming with Kinect: This past April, I upgraded my Xbox because: 1.) I wanted a 320 GB hard drive, 2.) I wanted the slimmer, quitter refreshed hardware…oh so refreshing!, and 3.) I wanted an Xbox with a working HDMI port.  It would have cost me $99 to fix the HDMI port on my old console, which annoys me greatly.  To top that all off, I did want a Kinect; I had tried Kinect at some friends homes, and it was surprisingly fun.  However, my tiny apartment at the time was not conducive to setting up the Kinect, so it remained packaged until I recently moved back into my folks home.  Since they actually have a television, and sufficient space in the family room, I set up my Xbox and Kinect in there.  I was surprised to find out that the various exercise games are…well, as hard as you make it.  If you push yourself, you will sweat, breathe heavy, and feel sore so it can definitely have a place in someone’s fitness routine.  Kinect Sports can definitely be family fun for most people.  No comment about the Star Wars Kinect game however…I’m thinking the next version of the Kinect would be better for such a game.  Overall, it’s worth owning, though it won’t replace a Halo or Gears of war experience.

Leave a Reply

