Game Developer’s Conference Quest 2012, Part 2

Friday, 3/9/2012

Le sigh,

So what happens when you try to make a post as quickly as possible between sessions?  Lost of spelling errors, titling the post incorrectly, and an overuse of the word ‘attend.’  Oh well.

I attended a couple of sessions yesterday, including two from Bioware that were fun.  The first concerned the idea of encouraging team members to take ownership of whatever they’re doing, while the second focused on using contrasts to create meaningful story and gameplay.  Fun times!

So the last day of GDC 2012 went out with a…something between a bang and a whimper.  It was fine for what it was.  I attended a morning session on networking, which was very informative and well done.  As for the remainder of the day, I talked to company representatives of whatever publishers had booths at the career pavilion.  Again, fun times.  I’m actually writing this in the Moscone Center before I make the six block trek back to the hotel.

If there’s one thing I learned, unless I get an ipad between now and GDC 2013, it’s to bring two notepads with me; one for taking notes during sessions and another purely for networking reasons.  Oh, and I bought a t-shirt and shot glass, both adorned with the GDC 2012 logo.

My flight gets into Orlando early Sunday morning at 12:20, and I won’t be back in my apartment until around 2:00 AM, I’m guessing.  C’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

