UX Lab Quest, Part 15

This week is a very interesting week, in that our client, TEQGames is currently at I/ITSEC, the world’s largest simulation conference.  What this means is that getting confirmations regarding upcoming mission requirements will be next to impossible for this week.  Everyone is busy in that regard.  Naturally, there are pros and cons to everything, so even though development work is on hold for the week, the artists can still do what mojo that they do and management and documentation remains constant.  Also, we the producers will attend I/ITSEC later this week, and that will be fun.

In my case, the mission 10 curriculum powerpoint should be done today or tomorrow, depending on how the days go.  I was finally able to sit down with the producer/designer yesterday to iron out the details for the walkthrough.  Incidentally, the powerpoint serves multiple functions besides curriculum suggestions.  They are, in no particular order:

  1. Provide suggestions for how to incorporate the mission into education curriculum.
  2. Provide a walkthrough of the mission; Note that this is not necessarily the “ideal” path for completing the mission.
  3. Provide mission-specific and game-specific details, from joystick controls, HUD details, etc.

Having previously worked in education, I can honestly say that not many teachers are gamers.  Mind you, I’m not saying they don’t play games like a Farmville or Angry Birds on their mobile device of choice.  But if I were to ask them who Nathan Drake or Ezio is, or if they’ve heard of Blizzard, Bioware, Bethesda, etc.  But I digress; the point is that it was my intention to try to give the educator using these missions user-friendly documentation that will allow them to succeed in implementing these missions into their teaching.

It’s questionable whether I’ve succeeded or not, but I can say I’ve tried my best each and every time.

Leave a Reply

