Game Industry Quest, Part 10

Could this be one of the greatest years of gaming ever?

There have been so many strong, fun games released this past year, especially in the Fall months.  Last week, Batman: Arkham City took the gaming world by storm.  The game package sits pretty in my apartment, unopened due to excessive amounts of work.

But I digress…

Battlefield 3 has released today, and it will be interesting to see how it does against Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3.

Battlefield 3 for PC, XBox 360, and PS3

Showcasing the DICE game engine, I present to thee: Battlefield 3!

I must admit that among my first-person shooter (FPS) tendencies, I prefer a Halo to a Call of Duty or Battlefield.  Not that the latter games are bad; in fact, I fully recognize that in some areas both games achieve excellence: multiplayer experience, gameplay, immersive story, etc.  With all that said, Battlefield 3 falls more in the: “pick up when it costs ~ $20 or less” category for me.  Chalk it up to personal preference.  Case in point, my friend Brian has held off on Batman: Akrham City and Gears of War 3 all for Battlefield 3.  Heck, he was at the midnight release last night.  Myself, I pre-ordered the latter and will hold off on the former.

Then again, it is smarter of Brian to spend less than I, especially in this economy.  Oh well; c’est la vie.

Onto other news that caught my eye a mere half-an-hour ago, according to kotaku, Rockstar will be unveiling Grand Theft Auto V onto an unsuspecting world.

GTA 5

Which emo protaganist skilled in the art of carjacking, piloting all man-made vehicles, and operating all man-made weaponry will capture our imaginations next?

Unless something new comes up, I’ll touch on this sandbox game and the idea of playing in a sandbox next week.

Leave a Reply

