UX Lab Quest, Part 07

I mentioned in jest in my last post how I may have jinxed everyone in that we would have to stay up all night to produce our last deliverable.

Sadly, I did indeed jinx us, as the producers in the lab did indeed stay up all night to produce our last deliverable.  It’s a strange situation in that we basically pull an all-nighter every one-and-a-half weeks.  On a personal level, this not only destroys any semblance of a regular sleep schedule, but also ruins productivity, as it takes a full day to restore said sleep schedule.  I can’t speak for my fellow producers, but this at least applies to my experience.

Our next deliverable, mission 6, is due this coming Thursday, so I expect to pull an all-nighter then as well.  Coincidentally, there is no class scheduled the following day, which makes me very happy.  Also, the producer and fellow classmate has been working very hard designing the mission, as I know he wants to avoid crunching by the end of the week if possible.

It’s a strange mission in that the player takes the role of Charles Lindbergh, the first person to successfully cross the Atlantic in a nonstop flight.  What’s strange about it is that the mission is meant to replicate that experience in 15-20 minutes.  The actual flight took 33.5 hours.  How does one encapsulate that experience of 33.5 hours of operating an aircraft in a 15-20 minute classroom simulation experience?  I wouldn’t mind asking Will Wright or Sid Meier that question.

I won’t lie; it’s been a wild ride in the UX lab, one filled with many twists and turns.  I can’t help but think of a wild out-of-control river when I think of my experience there.  I wouldn’t mind if the waters calmed down for a bit though.  In the meantime, classwork, lab work, and thesis work beckon.

Leave a Reply

