Game Industry Quest, Part 05

My time for games has been extremely limited as of late.  Case in point, I own Deux Ex: Human Revolution.  However, I have yet to play the game.  School work has kept me extraordinarily busy.  Even with Star Fox 64 3D, I haven’t completed the game.  I’ve played through four missions, and that’s been pretty much it.  The life of a graduate student, I suppose.  C’est la vie.

With that said, the impending release of Gears of War 3 has myself and many other gamers very excited.

Gears of War 3 Promotional Art

Will the trilogy end here? Perhaps Marcus Fenix's story will, but I'm guessing the Gears franchise will not. Just a hunch...

I have the sneaking suspicion that tomorrow’s productivity will be somewhat low among my peers.  Unfortunately for myself, the actual game should arrive tomorrow only to be put on the shelf right next to Deus Ex: Human Revolution.

I had wanted to play through the Gears of War and Gears of War 2 to refresh my memory on both the gameplay and the story, but that unfortunately did not happen as implied by the first sentence of this blog post.  Something about aliens, running between cover (aka stop and pop), and beautiful visuals.

Based on how things have gone school-wise, I actually anticipate the same thing happening for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim; that is, the game arriving at my doorstep, only to be put on the shelf to collect dust.  My backlog of games grows.  Strangely enough, among my peers I seem to be the only person that actually has a backlog of games.  I find this odd because I’m wondering where people find all the time to play all these games.  Personally, I enjoy a good night’s sleep.

Back to Gears of War 3, according to VGChartz, as of 9/19/2011, American pre-orders have reached 1.9 million.  That’s mind-boggling to say the least.  This brings to mind a discussion a professor of mine had earlier in the year.  Had he made the point that while Sony has quality shooters, they don’t have that killer shooter that’s really sparked people’s imaginations.  On the Microsoft front, they have two franchises in Halo and Gears of War that have accomplished just that.  I remember that conversation vividly, and more or less have come to agree with him.  Halo: Reach has sold a total 8.6 million worldwide sales.  For comparison, Resistance 3 total worldwide sales hover under 300k.  It’s true that it hasn’t been out for long as of this date (it just came out in early September), but that’s more or less the point of contention.  Killzone 3 has sold around 1.8 million in total worldwide sales.  Gears of War 3 has already eclipsed that number with preorders alone. To be clear, I am not saying there are no quality shooters with strong gameplay on Sony’s console.  What I am saying is that they don’t have the exclusive killer shooter (Call of Duty is multi-platform) that is both a critical and commercial success on the level of a Halo or a Gears of War game.  At least none that comes to mind at the moment.  Then again, I’ve been wrong before…

And on that front, with so much schoolwork on my plate (actually, it’s more like a platter), I should return to that.  Until next time; same game questing time, same game question channel.

Leave a Reply

