Game Industry Quest, Part 04

I find myself in a bit of a conundrum, in that I would prefer to write my game industry blog posts closer to the end of the week so that anything “newsworthy” (I use the term loosely), I could potentially comment on.  With the beginning of the week, it’s tough to comment on anything.

I would have liked to have written a mini-review of sorts for Star Fox 64 3D.  However, truth be told, I’ve been so busy with school work, especially thesis research, that whatever gaming time I have has been reduced to tiny spurts.  I only played three missions in Star Fox 64 3D, and thus, feel inadequately prepared to review the title.

That’s not to say I can’t make a few comments about my initial impressions.  The new textures and upgraded resolution stand out on the Nintendo 3DS’s mobile screen.  Everything looks vibrant and alive, the music is as good as I remember.  The voice acting is an interesting case, in that either it’s been edited heavily or completely re-recorded, because everyone sounds different to me.  The differences are minute, but present to my ears.  Then again, maybe I’m imagining things.

There are two available control schemes, one that mimics the original N64, and the other that takes advantage of the 3DS’s built-in gyroscope.  I admittedly only stuck to the original N64 controls, and didn’t bother with the 3DS control scheme.  Speaking of controls, this is where I lament a bit.  Unfortunately, the analog nub just doesn’t replicate the analog stick.  Bluntly put, pushing or pulling the nub is not the same as pushing or pulling a stick.

Finally, the 3D effect looks great in my opinion, and works real well for what is essentially a third-person space rail-shooter.  In fact, it could be the strongest game to take advantage of the 3D effect.  Surprisingly, the optional cockpit view appears to have been taken out.  Or at least I haven’t figured out how to go to that view.

Since I’m on the subject of the 3DS, I should probably comment on the peripheral leaked last week.  Apparently, it adds a second analog nub when attached to the base 3DS.  It hasn’t garnered a positive result from many.  As for myself, having not played with it, it’s tough to judge objectively.  What I wonder is how much it will retail for, and if it will offer any other additional functionality beyond an additional analog nub.  That is covers the power button and volume slider makes me wonder though…

The Nintedo 3DS Add-On

So, how does one turn the system on, and adjust the volume or slider?

Increased battery life would be awesome.

Leave a Reply

