Game Industry Quest, Part 03

The end of the week will truly be a pleasant run through memory lane, as Star Fox 64 3D is released.

Star Fox 64 3D for Nintendo 3DS

A spacecraft rail shooter with no equal, in my honest opinion.

This may be sacrilegious for some, but for my money, the original version was my favorite game on the Nintendo 64, trumping every so slightly Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.  The gameplay was incredibly fun.  Furthermore, Nintendo was successful in creating an epic feel and presentation, without cut beautiful cut scenes and excessive dialogue.  There’s something to be said about keeping things simple.  Like many things in life, it always comes down to execution, which is always paramount.

Not to say this game is flawless, as nothing in life is perfect.  For example, I wished Slippy Toad was a more competent pilot, as I constantly had to save him from the enemy.  Also, there was occasional frame rate issues when a lot of things were going on at once.  With that said, I’m hoping this remake will address the latter issue, and just increase the texture resolution of all the art assets.

One reason I believe it’ll be more enjoyable is that the game is not many hours long.  Right now, with my time to play games so limited from school and thesis work (thesising, as I like to call it; yes I made up a word), I’ve admittedly not even acquired the master sword in Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D.  In contrast, Star Fox 64 3D could be completed in 45-90 minutes, if memory serves me correctly.

Do a barrel roll!

Leave a Reply

