In the Beginning…The Undiscovered Country

Hold your grandmother’s Bible to your breast.
Gonna put it to the test.
You want it to be blessed.
And in your heart,
You know it to be true,
You know what you gotta do.
They all depend on you.
And you already know.
Yeah, you already know how this will end.

How It Ends by DeVotchKa

The first verse to How It Ends by DeVotchKa.  It’s a terrific song, especially if you’re in a brooding melancholy mood.  I guess the rollercoaster that is life will take anyone to that place sometimes.  Everyone should give it a try, if possible.  For context, this song was used to advertise Gears of War 2.

Going over all the consoles I’ve owned in my lifetime was a nice walk down memory lane, but playing games growing up weren’t exclusive to consoles and handhelds.  There was arcade gaming to enjoy at my local shopping mall.  It was always a treat whenever the neighborhood kids and myself went to our local shopping mall to play at the arcade.  I couldn’t tell give you an exact chronology of favorite games, but off the top of my head: Area 51, Captain America and the Avengers, Mortal Kombat, Soul Calibur, Street Fighter II, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, WWF Wrestlefest, Virtua Fighter, X-Men and one of the biggest quarter monsters ever, NBA Jam.  A single, shiny quarter to play one quarter of the game: brilliant!

PC gaming was also near and dear to my heart growing up.  Sierra was a great developer of point-and-click adventure games for the PC.  Admittedly, the King’s Quest series wasn’t my favorite among those games.  Rather, the Quest for Glory (previously known as Hero’s Quest) series by Lori & Cori Cole was my absolute favorite series growing up.  Also, the Police Quest and Space Quest series was great fun as well.  Sadly, while a variety of compilations of these classic games are available via Steam, Direct2Drive, Good Old Games, for reasons I can only speculate on, the Quest for Glory series remains readily unavailable.

With this post, we come to the end of this introductory series.  I don’t profess to be the greatest gamer around, but at the same time, I felt it necessary to discuss my gaming experience for contextual purposes, so people will understand where I come from whenever I discuss anything related to the game industry. Speaking of which, I now need to catch up on the actual posts required of me.  But that’s for next time…

Leave a Reply

